Free Moz Pro alternative
Moz Pro is Moz's paid suite of SEO tools, with its own link and keyword indexes and metrics such as Domain Authority. SEO Skill is free: web tools for the everyday lookups, and your own Search Console, Google Analytics and keyword data in your AI agent.
Get started freeRun it in a terminal, then sign in with Google.
Or run it on your machine
Installs the CLI, signs you in and adds the skill to your agents. Site crawls and Bing data run this way, on your own machine. A crawl fetches many pages, and Bing blocks our hosted server.
At a glance
The four things most people compare first, from each product's own pages.
SEO Skill
- Free use
- Every on-demand tool, no usage cap
- Paid
- $50 a month per site, for the weekly audit
- Works in web chat
- Yes
- Get started
- Free web tools with no account, or one URL in your AI agent
Moz Pro
- Free use
- Free tools, 7-day trial
- Paid
- $49 a month (Starter)
- Works in web chat
- Not stated. Its MCP docs name Claude Desktop, Claude Code and ChatGPT Desktop, and the MCP needs a Moz Data API plan, not Moz Pro.
- Get started
- Create an account
Free tools for the jobs you use Moz Pro for
No account and no key. Each one opens in your browser.
Domain Rating checker
Check Domain Rating by Ahrefs for any website.
Open the Domain Rating checkerSpam score checker
Check the spam score for a domain or page URL.
Open the spam score checkerBacklink checker
See the sites that link to a domain or page, with anchor text, followed links and a year of history.
Open the backlink checkerCompetitor keyword research
See the keywords a competitor ranks for, or the sites that compete with any domain.
Open competitor keyword researchPick Moz Pro if
From Moz Pro's own pages.
your team already reports on Domain Authority, Page Authority or Brand Authority.
you want a lower entry price: $49 a month for one site, or $79 a month on Standard paid yearly.
you want link and keyword data from Moz's own indexes plus a browser toolbar.
you want cheap API access for your agent: the Moz Data API with MCP starts at $20 a month.
Pick SEO Skill if
Free SEO tools in your browser, and your own search data in your AI agent.
You want the everyday lookups for free: backlinks, Domain Rating, competitor keywords, SERPs and traffic estimates, with no account.
You want your AI agent to answer from your own Search Console and Google Analytics data, not only from an index estimate.
You already pay for keyword data: SEO Skill uses your own DataForSEO or Ahrefs key, so you pay that provider and nothing on top.
You want a weekly crawl, daily index checks and drop alerts for $50 a month per site, with no seats to buy.
Side by side
Every fact we compared, with Moz Pro's taken from the sources at the end of this page.
SEO Skill: Use the free web tools with no account. For your own data, add https://seoskill.dev/mcp to your AI agent and sign in with Google (read only).
Moz Pro: Create a Moz account. A free Moz Community account gives limited access to the free tools. The Moz Pro free trial is 7 days on the Medium plan and needs a valid credit card, which may see an authorisation charge of up to $1 that is voided. The trial turns into a paid subscription unless you cancel before it ends. One trial per customer.
SEO Skill: Free web tools: backlink checker, Domain Rating, competitor keywords, SERP checker, traffic estimates, robots.txt, sitemap, schema and more. In your AI agent: Search Console reports (quick wins, low CTR, striking distance, content decay, cannibalization, traffic drops), page checks, index checks, before and after comparisons, and keyword research with your own key. A site crawler and internal links in the CLI.
Moz Pro: Keyword Explorer, Link Explorer, Competitive Research, Domain Overview, Site Crawl, Rank Tracker and Campaigns, On-Page Grader, AI visibility dashboards with tracked prompts, AI content briefs and MozBar Premium. API access is not included in Moz Pro. The Moz MCP server (beta, account owners only) needs a separate Moz Data API subscription, or Moz Local for the Local endpoint.
SEO Skill: Google Search Console, Google Analytics, URL Inspection, Clicky, and DataForSEO or Ahrefs with your own key. Bing Webmaster Tools in the CLI. Free Domain Rating by Ahrefs on research rows.
Moz Pro: Moz link index, Moz keyword index, Moz metrics (Domain Authority, Page Authority, Brand Authority), Google Analytics 4 (connected to a Campaign), AI model answers (GPT, Gemini, Google AI Mode) for prompt tracking
SEO Skill: Your browser for the web tools. Claude Code, Claude, ChatGPT, Codex, Cursor, VS Code, Gemini CLI, Windsurf, Le Chat and any remote MCP client for your own data.
Moz Pro: Web app, MozBar (Chrome extension), Claude Desktop, Claude Code, ChatGPT Desktop
SEO Skill: Yes
Moz Pro: Not stated. Its MCP docs name Claude Desktop, Claude Code and ChatGPT Desktop, and the MCP needs a Moz Data API plan, not Moz Pro.
SEO Skill: Every on-demand tool, with no usage cap and no time limit.
Moz Pro: No free Moz Pro plan. A free Moz Community account gives limited access to MozBar, Keyword Explorer and Link Explorer. The Moz Pro trial is 7 days on Medium and needs a credit card. The Moz API has a free tier of 50 rows a month, one request every ten seconds.
SEO Skill: The weekly site audit is $50 a month per site: weekly crawl, daily Google index checks, stored history, drop and return alerts, and a Monday email and webhook. Cancel any time.
Moz Pro: Moz Pro: Starter $49 a month for one website. Standard $99 USD a month, or $79 a month paid yearly ($950 for the first year). Medium $179 USD a month, or $143 a month paid yearly ($1,719 for the first year). Large $299 USD a month, or $239 a month paid yearly ($2,868 for the first year). Extra seats $49 a month each. Add-ons include $10 a month per extra Campaign and $20 a month per 200 extra keywords. Enterprise by contact. Moz Data API, needed for MCP: Starter $20 or $75 a month, Growth $125, $250 or $500 a month, Enterprise custom.
SEO Skill: Read-only Google sign-in. Your agent can start the paid audit for a site, which returns a Stripe Checkout link for you to open.
Moz Pro: No site or Google write actions stated for Moz Pro. The Moz Local MCP endpoint manages business locations and listings, with a Moz Local subscription.
SEO Skill: Search Console and analytics rows are fetched on each request and never stored, except what the paid weekly audit keeps for its sites. Your linked accounts and saved keys are kept, encrypted.
Moz Pro: Not stated directly. Each Moz Pro Campaign pulls traffic data from one connected Google Analytics 4 property and keeps historical traffic data in the Campaign. No Search Console connection is stated.
SEO Skill: Google's 16 months, read live. With the weekly audit, crawl and index history for the sites you audit.
Moz Pro: Not stated for Moz Pro research data. The Moz API pages say 20 years of data. GA4 data for a new Campaign is backfilled up to 12 months (monthly view) and 12 weeks (weekly view), but not if GA4 is connected after the Campaign is created.
SEO Skill: Hosted service, with the CLI and local MCP server open source (Apache 2.0)
Moz Pro: Hosted service
Move from Moz Pro in a few minutes
Nothing to migrate: SEO Skill reads your accounts live. When you are done, remove Moz Pro from your agent and revoke its access.
- Add SEO Skill to your agentUse the setup box above, or the steps for your client on the integrations page.
Check your access
Ask "list my Search Console properties". Every Google account you link shows up.
- Add your research keySave a DataForSEO or Ahrefs key on your account page if you use keyword research.
Keep what you still need
Projects and history you built in Moz Pro stay there. SEO Skill reads Search Console live, so you can run both while you decide.
More comparisons
Other ways to give your agent search data, next to SEO Skill.
AccuRanker
Free: No. Paid: $249 a month (Professional).
Free AccuRanker alternativeAhrefs
Free: Free account, verified sites. Paid: $29 a month (Starter).
Free Ahrefs alternativeAnswerThePublic
Free: Free, 3 searches a day. Paid: US$20 a month (Starter).
Free AnswerThePublic alternativeMajestic
Free: Free account, limits not stated. Paid: $49.99 a month (Lite).
Free Majestic alternativeQuestions about Moz Pro
Sources for Moz Pro, read 3 November 2026: Moz Pro plans, prices, add-ons, Starter plan, free Community account, Trial on Medium, credit card, $1 authorisation, auto renewal, Trial length of 7 days, MCP endpoints, beta, account owners, clients, auth, Moz API plans, free tier, MCP beta, not in Moz Pro, 20 years of data, Google Analytics 4 connection in Campaigns.