SEO Skill vs Ahrefs MCP
Ahrefs MCP is Ahrefs' own hosted MCP server. It gives your agent the Ahrefs API, including a Search Console tool group, on paid Ahrefs plans. SEO Skill gives your agent your own Search Console, Google Analytics and keyword data for free, with nothing to install.
Get started freeRun it in a terminal, then sign in with Google.
Or run it on your machine
Installs the CLI, signs you in and adds the skill to your agents. Site crawls and Bing data run this way, on your own machine. A crawl fetches many pages, and Bing blocks our hosted server.
At a glance
The four things most people compare first, from each product's own pages.
SEO Skill
- Free use
- Every on-demand tool, no usage cap
- Paid
- $50 a month per site, for the weekly audit
- Works in web chat
- Yes
- Connect
- One URL and a Google sign-in
Ahrefs MCP
- Free use
- No
- Paid
- $129 a month (Lite)
- Works in web chat
- Yes
- Connect
- Through its own account
Pick Ahrefs MCP if
From Ahrefs MCP's own pages.
You already pay for Ahrefs and want its full backlink, keyword and rank tracking data in your agent.
You want to choose which Ahrefs tool groups your agent sees, for clients that limit how many tools they load.
You build in Copilot Studio or n8n, which Ahrefs has setup guides for.
Pick SEO Skill if
One hosted MCP server for your own search data.
You want every tool your agent calls to be free, with no usage cap and no trial that ends.
You want Search Console, Google Analytics, URL Inspection and Clicky behind one Google sign-in, plus keyword research with your own DataForSEO or Ahrefs key.
You want your Search Console rows fetched on each request and never stored, except what the paid weekly audit keeps for its sites.
You want a weekly crawl, daily index checks and drop alerts done for you, for $50 a month per site.
Side by side
Every fact we compared, with Ahrefs MCP's taken from the sources at the end of this page.
SEO Skill: Add https://seoskill.dev/mcp to your agent and sign in with Google. Read-only access, no Google Cloud project, no API key.
Ahrefs MCP: OAuth consent screen, which creates an API key with MCP scope in the Ahrefs account. A manually generated MCP key can be sent as a Bearer token. Enterprise customers can also use API keys.
SEO Skill: 7 hosted tools: seo_sites, seo_report, seo_page, seo_compare, seo_index, seo_research and seo_data. The CLI adds the site crawl, internal links and Bing.
Ahrefs MCP: No count stated. The Tool Categories page lists 20 tool groups, including a gsc group.
SEO Skill: Google Search Console, Google Analytics, URL Inspection, Clicky, and DataForSEO or Ahrefs with your own key. Bing Webmaster Tools in the CLI. Free Domain Rating by Ahrefs on research rows.
Ahrefs MCP: Google Search Console: keywords, pages, positions and performance history, Site Explorer, Keywords Explorer, SERP overview, Rank Tracker, Site Audit, Brand Radar, Ahrefs Web Analytics, Social media, Content Helper
SEO Skill: Claude Code, Claude, ChatGPT, Codex, Cursor, VS Code, Gemini CLI, Windsurf, Le Chat and any remote MCP client
Ahrefs MCP: Claude Web, Claude Desktop, Claude Mobile, Claude Code, Copilot Studio, ChatGPT Web, Lovable, n8n, Manus, Mistral's Le Chat, OpenClaw
SEO Skill: Yes
Ahrefs MCP: Yes
SEO Skill: Every on-demand tool, with no usage cap and no time limit.
Ahrefs MCP: No. MCP is on paid plans starting from Lite. Ahrefs Free and Starter do not appear in the MCP plan list.
SEO Skill: The weekly site audit is $50 a month per site: weekly crawl, daily Google index checks, stored history, drop and return alerts, and a Monday email and webhook. Cancel any time.
Ahrefs MCP: Lite $129 per month, Standard $249 per month, Advanced $449 per month, Enterprise $1,499 per month with an annual commitment. Paying annually saves up to 17%. Prices in USD. MCP calls use API units: 200,000 on Lite, 800,000 on Standard, 2M on Advanced, custom on Enterprise.
SEO Skill: Read-only Google sign-in. Your agent can start the paid audit for a site, which returns a Stripe Checkout link for you to open.
Ahrefs MCP: No Google Search Console write actions stated. A management tool group handles Ahrefs projects, keyword lists, locations and Brand Radar configuration.
SEO Skill: Search Console and analytics rows are fetched on each request and never stored, except what the paid weekly audit keeps for its sites. Your linked accounts and saved keys are kept, encrypted.
Ahrefs MCP: Not stated
SEO Skill: Google's 16 months, read live. With the weekly audit, crawl and index history for the sites you audit.
Ahrefs MCP: Search Console performance history is offered, length not stated. Ahrefs historical data is 6 months on Lite, 2 years on Standard, 5 years on Advanced and unlimited on Enterprise.
SEO Skill: Hosted service, with the CLI and local MCP server open source (Apache 2.0)
Ahrefs MCP: Hosted service
Move from Ahrefs MCP in a few minutes
Nothing to migrate: SEO Skill reads your accounts live. When you are done, remove Ahrefs MCP from your agent and revoke its access.
- Add SEO Skill to your agentUse the setup box above, or the steps for your client on the integrations page.
Check your access
Ask "list my Search Console properties". Every Google account you link shows up.
- Add your research keySave a DataForSEO or Ahrefs key on your account page if you use keyword research.
Carry your prompts over
Prompts in plain words work as they are. Prompts that name Ahrefs MCP's own tools need rewording.
More comparisons
Other ways to give your agent search data, next to SEO Skill.
Advanced GSC
Free: Limited free version, limits not stated. Paid: $15 a month.
SEO Skill vs Advanced GSCAskWatch
Free: Yes, 20 calls a minute. Paid: No paid plan.
SEO Skill vs AskWatchChatSEO
Free: 7-day trial with a card. Paid: €49 a month for MCP (Pro).
SEO Skill vs ChatSEOGSC Wizard
Free: 7-day trial. Paid: €17 a month.
SEO Skill vs GSC WizardQuestions about Ahrefs MCP
Sources for Ahrefs MCP, read 2 November 2026: Hosted server, Lite and up, sign in, clients, API units, Tool groups including gsc and management, Plan prices, API and MCP access, historical data, API units per plan.